

### Integrated Research and Action for Development (IRADe)

C-50, Chhota Singh Block, Asian Games Village Complex Khelgaon, New Delhi-110049, India Tel No.: 91-11-2649 5522, Telefax: 2649 5523 Website: www.irade.org



# Annual Report 2006-07 IRADe

#### INTEGRATED RESEARCH AND ACTION FOR DEVELOPMENT

## THE SOCIETY

A comprehensive approach to development inherently involves the participation not only of the government, but also of NGOs, industry, corporations and financial and technical institutions. It is essential that these stakeholders be involved as partners at all stages of the research process. An inclusive research process creates wider consensus and makes policy reforms more acceptable.

With these ideas Integrated Research and Action for Development (IRADe1) is set up as a fully autonomous advanced research institute, which aims to do research and policy analysis, train people and be a hub of a network among various stakeholders. IRADe is an institute that focuses on Research for effective action

- Multi-disciplinary, multi-stakeholder research for implementable solutions
- Policy research that accounts for the political economy of the society and effectiveness of governance

It is a 'think tank' that works with 'action tanks'.

#### **OBJECTIVES**

- To develop understanding that integrates multi-stakeholder perspectives concerning issues of development.
- To promote a wider consensus through research and analysis on effective policies among stakeholders and policy makers.

- **BACKGROUND AND FOUNDING OF** To build capacities among professionals for multi-disciplinary, multistakeholder policy analysis.
  - To promote ideas and initiatives for inclusive developments at the local and global levels.
  - To promote research supports to developing countries for development and also to negotiate international agreements better.

#### **FOCAL AREAS**

- Energy systems, policy and planning
- **Bioenergy development**
- Climate change
- Energy security in rural areas
- Global and local issues especially poverty alleviation programmes
- Policy advocacies and dissemination

#### **PARTNERSHIPS DEVELOPED**

In a short span of time, IRADe has started working with Government, nongovernment and multilateral agencies such as The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Ministry of Environment and Forests (MOEF), Ministry of Power, Planning Commission, Self Employed Women's Association (SEWA), Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, Germany, Stanford University, USA, UNDP-GEF, ENERGIA International-Netherlands, Central Statistical Organization, Petroleum Federation of India, etc. as well as private sector such as Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC)-New Delhi and Reliance Industries Ltd.

<sup>1</sup>IRADe was registered as Society on September 5th, 2002 under the "Registration of Societies Act-Act XXI of 1860" with Registration No. S 43706.

#### KiritS. Parikh (Chairman) Jyoti K. Parikh (Executive Ela Bhatt Adi Godrej Keshub Mahindra R.A.Mashelkar Shirish Patel Manmohan Singh

\* Mr. Hemant Sahai, Sahai Law Consultants, was appointed in 2005 as Honorary Treasurer. + At the time of IRADe registration in 2002.

Currently at ICRIER*
TT - man all TT - to - and to -
Harvard University
YaleUniversity
UKTreasury
Colombia University

Chairman Dr. Kirit Parikh

**Executive Director** Dr. Jyoti Parikh

**Senior Advisors** Mr. Shashank Dr. B.D. Sharma Dr. K.K. Govil

Advisor Mr. C.R. Dutta Biswas Mr. K. C. Mahajan

Consultants Dr. Amit Walia Dr. K. Sangeeta Mr. Jignesh Jadav

2006-07

#### FOUNDING MEMBERS

Profession / Designation +				
)	Economist and Engineer			
Director)	Scientist: Energy & Environment			
	Founder, SEWA			
	Industrialist			
	Industrialist			
	Director General, CSIR			
	Consulting Engineer			
	Member, Rajya Sabha			

#### **INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY BOARD**

Formerly Under Secretary General, United Nations

#### **IRADe TEAM**

Research Analyst
Mr. Vivek Singh
Mr. Ronak Shah
Research Associates
Mr. Pankaj K Karn
Mr. R Bajpai
Ms. Saudamini Sharma
Ms. Pallavi Maitra
Mr. Ayan Pujari
Research Assistants
Ms. K. Swarna
Mr. Vinay Singh
Mr. Chandrashekhar
Mr. Champak Buragohain
Ms. Vinika Koul
Ms. Gurina Bajaj
Mr. Loknath Acharya
Ms. Vidya Damera
Mr. Shalendra Kumar
Mr. Ajay Singh
Ms. Nimisha Pandey
Mr. Manoj Kumar
Administration and Accounts
Mr. Sharad Garg
Mr. B.K. Sarkar

#### 2006-07